Return to the centre; down, down, down

And suddenly, black.
Every door slammed shut at once,
Every broken window boarded up.

And as the light gradually returns,
The bars of my cage are illuminated.
I know them well; I built them, after all.

A glance towards the centre,
Where that yawning chasm opens,
Beckoning me: “This way for freedom.”

As always, I resist,
Pacing back and forth, back and forth, back and forth,
Until I lose sight of the way back, and forth-hence
Swear to never again fall victim to the trap
Which ensnares me, consumes me,

Sucks

Me

Dry.

An empty promise.

Blow out the candles, one, two, three.
Back to black then, and still the rift calls:
“Freedom, freedom.”

Eyes closed.

Mind open.

Into the pit I tumble,
Never knowing how far I will fall.

Or why.

Leave a comment