Singapore: where everything is beautiful

I sit writing this update from gate c23 of Changi airport, waiting for the flight that will take me on the final leg of my journey to Perth. Today has been a long one.

After flying from Birmingham to Dubai at midday on Sunday, I flew into Singapore on the redeye from Dubai. There was a 12 hour layover at Changi, so I decided it was best to get out and explore the city.

image

A few weeks prior I’d posted a massage on couchsurfing.com asking for a local to show me around from an insider’s perspective. I had a couple of responses to this, and I met up with both of them at the bayside station.

image

One of my guides had to leave abruptly due to an emergency, but I got a great tour of some awesome sights of the city nonetheless. Also present was another fellow couch surfer from Sweden who had arrived in Singapore the same day.

image

The city is stunning. It’s outrageously clean and has a super efficient public transport system. I wish I had more time to see more!

Right now my legs are aching and I’m tired as Hell. I’m looking forward to a long sleep on the flight.

Leave a Reply

