More dark sarcasm in the classroom please.

I became a teacher because I wanted to teach kids how to use computers. That’s all I want to do. I want to show kids how these magic black boxes work. I want to show them how they can become masters of code. I want to see the look on their faces as they gain control over something most people are afraid of. I want to share my passion for computing with them, and I want them to develop their own passion for computing, mathematics and problem solving. That is why I became a teacher.

I did NOT become a teacher so that I could spend every waking minute of my day inputting data on students into a massive inefficient spreadsheet (which should be a goddess damned DATABASE), applying a pointless “grades for everything” policy and ignoring the needs of the majority of my students (including those with special educational needs) in favour of those students who are deemed to be from a lower social class.

With this in mind, I am going to carry on teaching kids how to use computers. I’m going to carry on igniting that passion in teenagers wherever I can; to carry on pushing my top performers; to provide help and support to low achievers, regardless of how much money their parents earn. I am going to continue to innovate wherever possible with my TEACHING and I am going to ignore pointless repetitive exercises which tick a box in some management spreadsheet (which should be a database) which has no impact on the future of the students I teach

And if they want to discipline me for doing my fucking job, then let them – because you better be damn sure I’ll make certain the whole fucking world knows what’s going on behind the scenes.

Leave a Reply

