When next she comes calling

I dreamt that I
Spied that pale rider
Out on the road to nowhere.
Elegance preternatural
Betrayed by murderous intent,
she scanned the horizon
East to west.

Searching.

Without so much as a
Shift in her saddle,
She raised her head and
Drank in the air.
Tasting, analysing,
Seeking the uncharacteristically
Elusive prey.

Hunting.

Kicking the stirrups,
She cantered across the
Dirt caked road,
Kicking out a billowing shroud
Which expanded defiantly
As she moved ever closer.
Yet still I evaded her soul-less gaze.

Fearing.

This encounter was not like before.
No quiet sympathy,
No words of reassurance.
If I glimpsed the void in her eyes
I knew it would be the for the last time.
Yet as she rode slowly away
I stared, entranced by her beauty…

And longed for her embrace.

15 comments

  1. Oneyearmuse

    Okay my brain is doing that thing again with dots this time its The Quick and the Dead and I am sure we all wouldn’t say no to Sharon Stone’s embrace especially in that particular character.

  2. Oneyearmuse

    Its a cowboy dueling shoot out movie with limited plot development what’s not to like πŸ˜‰ Not entirely unlike Ridley Scott’s first film The Duelists except for the ending.

    • 2Karl

      Films should make you think. That’s why my favourites are things like Primer, Pi, 1 Point 0… and everything David Lynch ever made. They require the viewers to really connect with the material. I hate it when films insult my intelligence by explaining everything in intricate detail rather than letting me draw my own conclusions, or giving flashbacks to events which happened earlier in the film as if I don’t have a memory longer than 30 minutes.

  3. Oneyearmuse

    Yes I’ve got Primer and it definitely makes you think. Mulholland Drive was interesting and worked on many levels, Twin Peaks had it moments loved the music from the Dance of the Dream Man. Have you seen Videodrome? Another rare film is the Deaths of Ian Stone. Whilst I agreed films should make you think they are also a form of entertainment and sometimes I want to be entertained.

Leave a Reply

