Act on instinct, know the truth from the lie

There are a number of personal statements below. fifty percent of them are true, and fifty percent are complete fabrications. I will not tell you which is which. Build up your own interpretation of me.

  1. I believe God is a crazy lady
  2. I believe that marriage is an archaic method of patriarchal subjugation
  3. I am unable to see the colour green
  4. I lost my virginity in a tent, at a music festival in 1994, to a girl whose name I can’t remember and whom I never saw again
  5. I am a vegetarian
  6. I used to drink heavily
  7. I have taken LSD, amphetamines and hashish (though not at the same time)
  8. My middle name is Ian
  9. I am an only child
  10. I am vastly overweight
  11. I finish every project I start
  12. Eighteen years ago I beat someone so savagely they almost died
  13. I quit drinking, smoking and all forms of drug abuse when I was 16
  14. I am unable to pronounce the letter “r”
  15. There is nothing I find more abhorrent than violence towards women
  16. I am the only member of my family who does not own their house
  17. I once stayed awake for thirty-six hours, during which time I drove the entire length of Great Britain
  18. I have an irrational fear of mirrors
  19. The only women I ever fall for are either completely insane or completely unattainable
  20. I am fluent in both English and German

There you go. Comment if you want to. I’d be interested to see what your impressions are.

11 comments

  1. namtabmai

    True: 1, 4, 5, 6, 13, 15, 16, 19
    Probably true: 2, 17

    False: 3, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 14, 20
    Probably false: 7, 18

    That said, 17 sounds like the kind of thing you’d do but I could easily swap it with 18, and I’ll admit 12 is one I just don’t want to believe but it’s possible it could be related to 6 and 13 :/ No offence intended, but we were all different people growing up.

      • Rayner

        Seen as this is just a perception of yourself and not my perception of you this exercise is a waste of time. Ie “drinking heavily” what do you class as drinking heavily? Worth noting that statment is false in the list. But i believe you may think the opposite.

      • 2Karl

        Also not all of the items on the list are subject to value judgements, so there are some items which can be undeniable fact.

    • 2Karl

      That’s a cynical viewpoint and I disagree. The post was meant primarily as an experiment to see how people perceive me based only on a single photo and a number of mostly ambiguous haikus. From email responses I’ve received, there’s some interesting views as to the type of person I am. I thought it would also be a bit of fun to throw it out to people who know me outside of the confines of the blog.

Leave a Reply

