Chapter two

Well that’s it then. The summer holidays are over, and it’s back to work on Monday. And let me tell you, it couldn’t come sooner.

Although I’m not complaining about having six weeks off work to enjoy the wonderful weather, it’s been a pretty strange month and a half. I haven’t done half the things I set out to do, but I’ve done a whole load of things I never planned. Which is probably the best possible outcome. 

I’ve been to Sherwood Forest. I’ve joined a band. I’ve danced around my living room to bhangra. I’ve sat in a coffee shop in tears. I’ve sat alone on a bridge and watched the stars. I’ve cleared three dancefloors. I’ve written poems. I’ve written songs. I’ve watched Battlestar Galactica in its entirety. I’ve laughed uncontrollably. I’ve cried for no reason. I’ve filled a mormon’s head with doubts about her faith. I’ve visited a neolithic long barrow. I’ve watched the sun blaze down to the horizon, scorching the western sky.

But throughout it all, my thoughts were unfocused. My brain is constantly thinking, over and over and over, a million thoughts every fraction of a second. During term time it’s fine as I have so many work related tasks to be thinking of, that it’s a good thing. It keeps me going through those long nights of marking, those nights where I know I need to pull a lesson out of my head and I have no time to make resources. But in the holidays it’s just a wash of unrelated ideas, some completely intangible, some fully formed and hideous, some idealistic and wonderful. 

And there’s only so much of that raging miasma I can stand. I start at a new school on Monday. New students, teaching a new course even. One of the things I adore about my job is that there is never the same day twice. Many people think that teaching is just a case of going through the motions, teaching the same material every year… maybe that’s true for some subjects, but for computer science, where the technology is advancing at such a rapid rate, we need to be restlessly creative. And that is what I love.

So I’m not sure what to expect. I AM sure that I need to find a way of kicking myself out of bed in the morning. I think I’m living in EST or something.

Here’s to the future.

5 comments

  1. katsmilesalot

    I’m a teacher too! But, I’m the opposite. I live for summer vacation and dread the return haha
    A new school and change will be fresh and exciting though. Good luck with it!

Leave a Reply

