Ascend and be one with the one mind

Last night I went to see one of my favourite bands, Senser. I love them because they effortlessly fuse hip-hop, trip-hop, metal and electronica into a sublime genre destroying synergy. It’s difficult to describe what they sound like, because they have such a unique signature.

The band have been around since the early ’90s, and have had their share of ups and downs in the last twenty years. They may be getting on a bit, but age has not dulled them; rather it has hones them to a razor’s edge. Seriously, last night’s gig was the best I’ve ever seen them (and I’ve seen them a LOT).

The band have recently had another slight change to the line-up, with the new female vocalist Imma replacing Kerstin. I’m not sure if Imma is a permanent addition to the band or merely standing in for Kerstin temporarily, but let me tell you, she does the band proud. Imma has all of the wonderful euphoric grace of Kerstin, combined with that little bit of extra power. She is a great addition.

A quick note on the support act too – Subsource. I had never heard these guys before so I didn’t know what to expect. They played a great mix of punk rock, dubstep and electronica, which had me dancing from the start (me and nobody else I should add, at least until the tail end of their set, where a mere two other people joined me). The vocalist also had an electric upright double bass, which you don’t see every day. Coupled with a radio transmitter, this allowed him to jump around all over the place during the songs, which was great.

The venue was not half bad – a pub in Milton Keynes with a room at the back where the bands played. Not huge by any standards, but that’s just how I like it. You get a much more intimate performance that way. I shall be returning to The Crauford Arms when opportunity presents.

All in all, a superb evening, and well worth the meagre £10 ticket price.

5 comments

  1. Meka

    It’s nearly 330 am here. I should be sleeping but I’m not, I’m wherever ths is listening to this amazing music. This was all really good…your blog…everything. I’m going to bed

  2. Pingback: Interact with Me Tonight at 8:30 PM CST | Love Mekanism
  3. Pingback: Four Love Mekanism *PICKS* Artists | Love Mekanism

Leave a Reply

