The drug of the nation

MY students often get shocked when they discover that I don’t have a TV. Almost guaranteed to be among their responses is: “What do you DO? Don’t you get BORED?”

Well, let’s see.

What do I do?

  • Read books
  • Program computers
  • Play guitar
  • Sing
  • Read more books
  • Write poetry
  • Update my blog
  • Read science journals
  • Read more books
  • Ride BMX
  • Go exploring
  • Imagine myself to be in various fantasy environments while I go exploring
  • Paint
  • Build models
  • Listen to music
  • Write songs
  • Play games with friends
  • Talk to friends
  • Drink coffee
  • Consider the unanswerable questions of the universe
  • Investigate the unanswerable questions of the universe at my local library
  • (Occasionally) answer, through research, questions of the universe I had previously thought unanswerable
  • Walk
  • Run
  • Read more books
  • Smile as I think how much more fulfilling my life is since I broke free from the grasp of TV (and Facebook and all that other crap).

Do I get bored? Hell no. When do I have time to get bored?

Leave a Reply

