And don’t come back…

Sitting on my own again,
Staring at the floor
And it seems like fifty years ago
That you walked out that door
So I try to stifle back the memories I can’t ignore,
And I think of all the fun we had
In the time that came before.

Remember when we said we’d build
A fortress in the trees,
And we’d sit beside an open fire
Reading poetry?
And you’d tell me that you’d never met a person quite like me,
And I thought that I had everything
To make my life complete.

But it all falls down;
Should have known it wouldn’t last
And I’m stuck here all alone again,
Dwelling on the past.
It all falls down,
It wasn’t meant to be,
But i’m sick and tired of sitting here
With no-one to talk to but me.

And every week we’d hit the town,
Dance the night away,
And we’d never give a damn about
What other people say,
But then something changed and our love began to slowly decay.
The cracks had started showing,
And the rot was here to stay.

Then it all falls down,
It was never going to last
And I find myself alone again,
Thinking of the past.
It all falls down,
It wasn’t meant to be,
But i’m starting to get used to
Having no-one to talk to but me…

Sitting on my own again,
Staring at the floor,
And i’m smiling thinking of the day
That you walked out my door,
And I think of all the pain and guilt and misery endured,
And how the good times that we had
Were outweighed by the poor.

Remember when you got so drunk
You threw up on my floor?
Or the time you spent my cash on clothes
And still you wanted more?
I’m still paying off the bills from all the things you couldn’t afford;
Told the debt collectors where you live,
Hope they’re knocking at your door.

So it all falls down,
I’m glad it didn’t last
And I hope that I can now escape
The nightmare of my past.
It all falls down,
But i’m not feeling blue,
’cause although i’m on my own again,
At least i’m not here with you.

Leave a Reply

